Monday, May 27, 2024
34.1 C
Monday, May 27, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Voting Turnout In Manipur Phase 1 Polls Ends At 78.03%

In Manipur’s first of two phase elections, 78.03 percent of eligible voters cast ballots, deciding the fate of 173 candidates. Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur, Churachandpur, and Kangpokpi were among the 38 constituencies that participated in the election. There are 60 assembly seats in the state.

According to Rajesh Agarwal, Manipur’s chief electoral officer, a total of 12,09,439 voters, including 5,80,607 males, 6,28,657 females, and 175 transgender voters, exercised their right to vote across 1,721 polling locations.

The polling took place from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. At the eleventh hour, those who have been diagnosed with Covid-19 or are under quarantine were allowed to vote.

Notably, 381 polling stations were entirely staffed by women, while one voting station in Saikot was entirely staffed by people with disabilities (PwD).

State President Minister N Biren Singh of Heingang, Speaker Y Khemchand Singh of Singjamei, Deputy Chief Minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh of Uripok, and state Congress chief N Lokesh Singh of Nambol are among the key candidates whose fates will be decided.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article