Thursday, June 20, 2024
30.1 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

BJP Announces Seat Sharing In Punjab. Says State Needs Special Attention

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) announced the seat-sharing agreement for the Punjab elections on February 20, with the BJP contesting 65 seats and the Punjab Lok Congress, led by Captain Amarinder Singh, contesting 37 seats. Another NDA partner, Sanyukt, will contest 15 seats, led by Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa and Ranjit Singh Brahmpura.

At a news conference announcing the seat-sharing agreement, BJP national president JP Nadda said Punjab presently need “particular attention.” “The BJP will run for 65 seats, the Punjab Lok Congress for 37 seats, and the SAD-Sanyukt for 15 seats,” Nadda said, adding, “Punjab need special attention.” This election is about security and stability. Our mission is to get Punjab back on track.”

Punjab is a border state, according to Nadda, and security is a major worry in the next assembly elections. In the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Amarinder Singh, and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, the BJP chief announced the seat-sharing agreement at the BJP headquarters.

All three parties, Singh said, have come together for the sake of national security and the welfare of the state.

“NDA under the leadership of PM Narendra Modi Ji is devoted to restoring the grandeur of Punjab and the welfare of farmers, poor, and disadvantaged,” Amit Shah stated at the press conference.

In the 2017 assembly elections, the Congress won 77 seats out of a total of 117, putting the previous SAD-BJP administration out of office. The AAP won 20 seats and become the state’s main opposition party.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article