Thursday, June 20, 2024
30.1 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

All Party MLAs Submit Choices At Congress’ Meeting In Karanataka As New CM Awaits

Congress held meeting in Bengaluru to decide upon the new Chief Minister for Karnataka, each MLA told their choices through vote to the Congress’ observers.

However, the grand old party has asked national party chief Mallikarjun Kharge to take the final call.

The oath ceremony for the Congress’ cabinet along with the Chief Minister will take place on Thursday. 

Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar have expressed their will to hold the top position. The party is concerned about the outcome if one candidate is selected over the other.

In the team of party observers who submitted the choices given by the MLAs at the meeting included Congress General Secretaries Deepak, Babaria, Sushil Kumar Shinde and Jitendra Singh Alwar.

The Congress has invited all the “like-minded” parties to attend the oath taking ceremony that will take place on Thursday, Mr Kharge and the Gandhis will also attend the event.

The new Karnataka cabinet will take up its final shape in a day or two.

The supporters of both Mr Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah have put up posters outside the residences of both the leaders wishing them for the Chief Ministerial post.

The BJP, who was in power in the only state in south was voted out of power by Congress, who won 135 assembly seats out of total 224 seats.

BJP finished with only 66 seate, which was below what it won in 2018.

Karnataka which has 51 reserved seats, out of which 36 for Scheduled Castes (SC) and 15 for Scheduled Tribes (ST). The BJP did not win a single vote from the reserved category.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article