Tuesday, July 16, 2024
31.1 C
Tuesday, July 16, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

SAD Comes Up With It’s List Of Candidates For Assembly Polls

The SAD announced its candidates for 64 assembly seats in Punjab’s upcoming elections on Monday.

Former ministers Tota Singh, Janmeja Singh Sekhon, Daljit Singh Cheema, and Sharanjit Singh Dhillon will run from Dharamkot, Zira, Rupnagar, and Sahnewal, respectively, while Shiromani Akali Dal head Sukhbir Singh Badal will run from Jalalabad.

The party had previously disclosed the names of 24 candidates, but on Monday it released a complete list of 64 candidates for the 2022 state assembly elections.

The SAD and the BSP formed an election alliance in June for the 2022 elections. According to the seat-sharing agreement, Mayawati’s BSP will compete 20 of Punjab’s 117 assembly seats, while the SAD will contest the rest.

The SAD left the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance last year over the issue of agriculture laws. The SAD contested 94 seats in an alliance with the BJP, while the saffron party contested 23 seats.

Adaish Partap Singh Kairon, the son-in-law of former chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, is one among the candidates running for the Patti seat.

The party fielded Ranjit Singh Gill, Pritpal Singh Pali, and Maheshinder Singh Grewal from Ludhiana East, Ludhiana Central, and Ludhiana West, respectively.

From Fazilka, Rajpura, Amritsar North, Amritsar West, Sujanpur, Jalandhar Central, Mukerian, the party named Hans Raj Josan, Charanjit Singh Brar, Anil Joshi, Dalbir Singh Verka, Raj Kumar Gupta, Chandan Grewal and Sarabjit Singh Saabi, respectively.

When the BJP was in an alliance with the Akali Dal, these 10 seats were used to field candidates.

Virsa Singh Valtoha will contest the Khem Karan seat, while Baldev Singh Khaira, Gurdaspur Gurbachan Singh Babehali, Ajnala Amarpal Singh Bonny, and Nakodar Gurpartap Singh Wadala will contest the Phillaur seat.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article