Tuesday, March 21, 2023
23.1 C
Tuesday, March 21, 2023
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Voting To Elect Delhi Mayor And Deputy Mayor To Take Place On February 6

The six-member Standing Committee and the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Delhi will be chosen on February 6.

The last date has been accepted by VK Saxena, the Lieutenant Governor of Delhi. The election date was proposed by Arvind Kejriwal, the chief minister of Delhi, and Manish Sisodia, his deputy.

The Kejriwal government suggested three dates: February 3, 4, and 6. The MCD requested February 10 to call a session of the House to elect the mayor.

When the House reconvened on January 6 and January 24, it was unable to elect the mayor since the sessions had been called off due to heated arguments between AAP and BJP council members.

The BJP has been charged by the AAP with avoiding holding the mayoral election.

Mukesh Goel, the leader of the House, and Shelly Oberoi, a contender for mayor, sought the Supreme Court to request permission to hold the mayoral elections in a timely way, according to AAP on Thursday.

In the MCD elections that were held in December of last year, the AAP won 134 of the 250 wards. The BJP was successful in 104 wards.

In her petition, Oberoi requested that the elections be conducted in a timely manner and that the nominated members not be permitted to cast ballots.

In the nation’s capital, the position of mayor is filled by rotation for five one-year terms, with the first year reserved for women, the second for open candidates, the third for candidates in a reserved category, and the final two again for candidates in the open category.

Six members of the MCD standing committee will also be chosen during the municipal House in addition to the mayor and deputy mayor.

As a result, Delhi will have a female mayor this year. 250 council members, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs from Delhi, and 14 MLAs chosen by the Legislative Assembly are the electors for the mayor.

One BJP MLA and 13 AAP MLAs have received nominations from the Delhi Assembly Speaker for the MCD.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article