Tuesday, March 21, 2023
23.1 C
Tuesday, March 21, 2023
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh Among 47 Names Under Steering Committee Formed By Kharge

Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh, and Rahul Gandhi are among the 47 members of the steering committee that the new Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge has assembled. Until the plenary session is held, the committee will act in place of the Congress’s Working Committee, the highest decision-making body of the party. The next meeting of the AICC (All-India Congress Committee) will elect new members to the working committee.

The members of the Congress Working Committee resigned this morning. This is a requirement of the election of a new chief so that he can select his staff.

AICC General Secretary, Organization, KC Venugopal, stated that “all the CWC members, AICC general secretaries, and in-charges have tendered their resignation to Congress president.” The steering committee has now been expanded to include all office holders, including general secretaries and in-charges.

However, special invitees like Deependra Hooda and Sachin Pilot were not a part of the steering committee.

Mr. Kharge has reaffirmed his belief in group leadership and said that, if necessary, he will speak with Sonia and Rahul Gandhi.

“They have benefited this nation. They will help the party, so I will absolutely seek out their counsel and assistance. Nothing to be ashamed of, “Prior to the party’s internal surveys, he had stated.

After defeating senior party leader and Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor to win the election earlier this month, Mr. Kharge promised to put the party’s Udaipur Declaration into practise and work to solve issues affecting young people, farmers, women, and small business owners.

Following numerous calls for change and difficulties in selecting a challenger to Shashi Tharoor, the internal elections for the Congress were held.

A group of Central leaders convinced Mr. Kharge to run as a last-minute replacement after Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot withdrew from the race even before it began.

Initially considered the front-runner, Mr. Gehlot’s campaign lost steam after his devoted MLAs in Rajasthan staged a public uprising to prevent his bitter rival Sachin Pilot from succeeding him as chief minister.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article