Tuesday, March 21, 2023
23.1 C
Tuesday, March 21, 2023
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Mallikarjun Kharge Wins Congress President Post With Great Majority Of 7,900 Votes

After tallying the ballots from a nationwide election that took place two days earlier, veteran party stalwart Mallikarjun Kharge was elected president of the Congress Party on Wednesday. Kharge is the first person not descended from the Gandhi family to head the party in twenty years.

Kharge, who came out on top in the election against Shashi Tharoor, is the sixth president of the party, which has a history that spans 137 years.

After the voting had been completed and counted, one of Tharoor’s counting agents, Karti Chidambaram, announced that Kharge had won the election with 7,897 votes, while the Kerala MP had received 1,072 votes.

Over 9,500 people cast their vote at PCC offices and the AICC headquarters on Monday, out of a total of 9,915 Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) delegates who comprised the electoral college to choose the party chairman in a secret ballot.

Tharoor announced in a statement that the final verdict has been determined to be in favor of Kharge. In addition, he extended his felicitations to Kharge on the success of his campaign.

“I recognize that the decision of the party delegates is authoritative, and I do so with humility. It is an honor to be a part of a political party that gives its employees the opportunity to vote for their president “According to Tharoor.

“Our new president is a longtime member of our party and a senior figure who brings a wealth of experience in both leadership and management to the table. I have no doubt that, with all of our efforts combined, we would be able to achieve even greater success with the party if we are led by him “According to Tharoor.

Tharoor stated that the party owes the outgoing president Sonia Gandhi a “irredeemable debt” for her quarter-century of leadership of the party and for being the anchor at our most vital moments. He referred to this debt as a “irredeemable debt.”

“Her choice to authorize this election process, which has provided us with new roads to the future, is unquestionably a fitting monument to her wisdom and vision for our party. It has given us new pathways to the future. I really hope that she will continue to direct, motivate, and inspire the new leadership team of the party as they work to overcome the problems that lie ahead “According to Tharoor.

In addition, he congratulated former President Rahul Gandhi and his daughter Priyanka Gandhi Vadra for the work they have done to help ensure that elections are fair and impartial.

“The Nehru-Gandhi family has held, and will always hold, a special place in the hearts of Congress party members and for good cause too,” he said. “The Nehru-Gandhi family has been in power for a long time, and it will continue to be in power for a long time

If elected, Kharge would be the first president in 24 years who was not a Gandhi.

Mallikarjun Kharge, a senior member of the Rajya Sabha from the state of Karnataka, has been a supporter of the Gandhi family for a very long time. In 1969, he became a member of the Congress party. In the beginning of his career, Kharge was a labor union representative.

Kharge was born in the Bidar region of the southern state in 1942. He was a member of the Dali group and was born there. Kharge was a student at the law school, and right from the beginning of his time there, he developed an active interest in politics.

In 1972, the leader of the Congress party in Karnataka at the time, Devaraj Urs, persuaded Kharge to run for office in the constituency of Gurmitkal, which was predominantly upper-caste. He was elected nine times in a row to represent that constituency. After that, he ran for office again and was successful from Chitapur.

After winning the Gulbarga parliamentary seat in the 2009 general elections, which allowed him to become a member of the Lok Sabha for the first time, he began his ascent to the highest levels of national politics. The year 2014 was Kharge’s second victory in this competition. On the other hand, he was defeated by the BJP in 2019. Kharge was given the responsibility of serving as the Leader of the Congress Party in the Lok Sabha in June of 2014. In addition, he served as the Minister of Railways and the Minister of Labor and Employment at the Center throughout his time in the cabinet.

This political veteran, who was 78 years old at the time of his election, was chosen to represent Karnataka in the Rajya Sabha on June 12, 2022. He was given the role of Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha, but he tendered his resignation from that office on October 1, 2022 so that he could run for the presidency of Congress.

Since the country’s independence, the Congress has been predominately led by a member of the Gandhi family, who has been chosen by acclamation each time. Elections were only held six times because there was more than one candidate running for office. The first election was held in 1939, when Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose defeated P. Sitaramayya, who had the support of Mahatma Gandhi.

Kharge was the front-runner from the beginning and was largely considered to have the support of the Gandhi family. Now, his victory will unavoidably supply ammo to adversaries, who argue that the Gandhis will govern the party by remote control in the future.

Shashi Tharoor, who was Kharge’s opponent in these party elections, insisted during the days of campaigning that the Gandhis had given him a pledge that they would let him to preserve his neutrality.

Tharoor has stated that he supports change, which many political observers believe is something that the Congress must have immediately.

Shortly after the counting of votes began on Wednesday, Tharoor began to argue that there had been “very severe anomalies.” A member of his campaign team named Salman Soz stated that they had spoken with the chairman of the Congress central election authority named Madhusudan Mistry about “many various topics.”

This election took place around three years after Sonia Gandhi agreed to temporarily lead the party when Rahul Gandhi stepped down, taking responsibility for the party’s two consecutive losses in general elections in 2014 and 2019.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article