Thursday, October 21, 2021
32.1 C
Thursday, October 21, 2021
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Which Top Constituencies Are Going Under Polls In 1st Phase of Assam Assembly

Assam will go under its first phase of elections on 47 constituencies tomorrow. In these 47 constituencies total 81,09815 voters will stand to decide the fate of 264 candidates. The campaigning will end today as the elections as the polling will take place March 27.

Here are the top constituencies that are going under polls include:

Jorhat assembly constituency election

A piece of the Jorhat Lok Sabha and Jorhat district, the gathering voting demographic is seeing a serious fight with the BJP handling Assam Assembly Speaker Hitendra Nath Goswami from the seat. Congress has given a pass to Rana Goswami from the seat. Goswami was chosen twice from the seat–in 2006 and in 2011. Hitendra Nath Goswami had won from the seat in 2016 by getting 69,209 votes defeating at that point seating MLA of Congress Rana Goswami.

Majuli assembly constituency election

Majuli is a reserved constituency under the Scheduled Tribe class. Officeholder Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal is fighting elections from the Majuli constituency. Congress has handled Rajib Lochan Pegu from the constituency once more. He was Minister of water assets in the Tarun Gogoi government and had won in the constituency for three terms in line since 2001. In 2016 elections, Sonowal had conquered Pegu by an edge of more than 18000 votes. The prominent constituency has seen PM Narendra Modi and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi battling in the voting demographic. Supporting to the challenge from the seat are Bhaity Richong of the SUCI (Communist) coalition, Sishudar Doley of the Assam Jatiya Parishad and Purna Pegu, an Independent competitor.

Gohpur assembly constituency election

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee President Ripun Bora is taking on BJP’s Utpal Bora, who won from the seat in 2016. He had conquered Monika Bora of Congress in the past elections. The Congress is expecting a turnaround from the seat by handling its state president Ripun Bora. The supporters falls under the Tezpur Lok Sabha and goes under the Biswanath area.

Bihpuria assembly constituency election

The BJP has dropped its sitting MLA from Bihpuria. The gathering gave a pass to Amiyo Kumar Bhuyan in Bihpuria, superseding MLA Debananda Hazarika. For Congress, AICC secretary Bhupen Borah is challenging from the seat. The electorate goes under the Tezpur Lok Sabha. Strangely, Debananda Hazarika had defeated Borah by getting 66,563 votes in 2016 and still the BJP decided to replace him. As indicated by reports, the BJP’s move is pointed toward tallying hostile to incumbency. Borah had won from the seat in the 2011 polls.

Lakhimpur assembly constituency election

Dr Joy Prakash of Congress is taking on Manab Deka of BJP from the Lakhimpur voting demographic. The seat is right now held by Utpal Datta of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). In 2016, Utpal Dutta conquered Joy Prakash Das of Congress by an edge of 4155 votes. AGP had battled 2016 polls in collusion with the BJP. In any case, they have headed out in different directions and consequently, the BJP has handled its competitor from the seat. Deka is a nearby associate of Himanta Biswa Sarma. The current year’s political race will stamp his survey debut. Then again, Joy Prakash Das is a senior Congress leader and had lost 2016 surveys by a slender edge. The candidature of Utpal Datta has made the political conditions intriguing in the electorate.

The vote counting will take place on May 2 in the state.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article