Wednesday, April 17, 2024
34 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Congress Releases List Of 124 Candidates For Karnataka Assembly Polls, Siddaramaiah To Contest From Varuna

124 candidates have been named by the Congress for the forthcoming assembly elections in Karnataka, which will take place in May. Siddaramaiah, the former chief minister of Karnataka, will run from the Varuna district, and DK Shivakumar, the head of the Karnataka Congress, will run from the Kanakapura district.

One of the well-known leaders who appears on the first list of candidates for the Assembly elections is D K Shivakumar Siddaramaiah, who is running for chief minister in the event that the party gains control in Karnataka. 20% of the 124 candidates on the first roster put forth by Congress are Lingayat leaders.

The son of Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, Priyank Kharge, will run from Chitapur. Tickets have been awarded to MB Patil and Dinesh Gundurao from the Babaleswar and Gandhinagar districts, respectively. Venkataramanappa, the party’s incumbent MLA, has been dropped, and a new candidate has been granted a ticket.

Former Union Minister KH Muniyappa will run for office from the Devanahalli constituency, while former BJP MLC Puttanna, who left the party, received the ticket for Rajajinagar.

Yathindra Siddaramaiah, the son of Siddaramaiah, is the current representative of Varuna in Mysuru. Leader of the Congress Legislature Party Siddaramaiah presently represents the Badami section of the Bagalkote district in the state’s northern region. DK Shivakaumar is currently serving as a Kanakapura MLA.

He had previously declared that he would run from Kolar, but changed his mind after, according to reports, party officials warned him about the “risks” of doing so.

Siddaramaiah had spent the previous few months laying the groundwork because Kolar was one of the electoral districts he was keeping an eye on. Siddaramaiah listed Badami, Varuna, and Kolar as his three preferred constituencies in his official application to the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) in February.

Siddaramaiah previously said he might compete for office in the assembly from Varuna, his former home district. According to reports, the party’s release of the first list of candidates was delayed due to his indecision regarding choosing a seat. He fell to Chamundeshwari in Mysuru in 2018 but defeated Badami in Bagalkot.

The polling timetable for the upcoming assembly elections, which are scheduled for May, is anticipated to be released by the Election Commission soon.

The Congress Party has already approved all of the names that the central selection community and the screening community had approved. The second list will also be completed within the next three to four days, according to KPCC President DK Shivakumar.

Out of the 124 candidates the Congress nominated, 28% are Lingayats, 22% are Vokkaligas, 22% are members of Scheduled Castes, and 10% are members of Scheduled Tribes.

It’s interesting to note that veteran Congress leader K H Muniyappa, a former Union Minister and seven-term member of parliament, has returned to state politics and has been nominated by the party from Devanahalli, while his daughter, Roopakala M, a current MLA from KGF, has once more received the ticket from the district.

Both his son S S Mallikarjun from Davanagere North and the 91-year-old veteran politician Shamanur Shivashankarappa have received the ticket for Davanagere South.

Former Minister M. Krishnappa and his son Priyakrishna from the segments of Vijaynagar and Govindraj Nagar, respectively, and former Minister Ramalinga Reddy (Working President) and his daughter Sowmya R from the segments of BTM Layout and Jayanagar, respectively, have also made the list.

Ramanatha Rai B, a previous minister, from Bantval, as well as his son Mithun M. Rai, a resident of Moodabidri.

After a meeting in Delhi on March 17, the party’s central electoral committee approved the initial list of candidates. Kharge, the head of the Congress, is the committee’s chairman. At the discussion, Rahul Gandhi was also in attendance.

The Congress is the first party to announce its slate of contestants for the Karnataka elections. The Election Commission has not yet released a timetable for the southern state’s assembly elections. In the southern state, the Congress wants to depose the BJP. Candidates for 124 seats have been named by the main opposition group in the current Assembly, which is trying to unseat the BJP.

The Congress had pledged to provide 200 free power units to all households (Gruha Jyoti), 2,000 rupees a month in aid to the female head of each family (Gruha Lakshmi), and 10 kilogrammes of free rice to every BPL household member. (Anna Bhagya). Rahul Gandhi recently introduced the “Yuva Nidhi” programme in Belagavi, Karnataka, which provides unemployed youth in Karnataka with a monthly allowance.

In the first list, the Congress has not decided on a candidate for Shiggaavi, where Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai is likely to be nominated by the BJP, or Channapatna, where former Chief Minister and JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy is running.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article