Monday, May 27, 2024
34.1 C
Monday, May 27, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Congress Dominates Results of Panchayat Samiti Elections In Nagpur

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a loss when elections for Panchayat Samiti chairpersons and deputy chairpersons were held in Nagpur district in Maharashtra. According to the official information, the BJP was only able to win three seats for deputy chairperson in the elections, the results of which were announced on Saturday, the same day as voting.

The current Maharashtra unit chief of the BJP, Chandrashekhar Bawankule, the state’s deputy chief minister, Devendra Fadnavis, and union minister Nitin Gadkari all call Nagpur district home. The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), the ideological forerunner of the BJP, which is currently in power in the state and at the federal level, also has its headquarters in Nagpur.

In the district, the Congress won nine out of 13 chairman positions and eight out of 13 deputy chairperson positions. According to district officials, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won three of the available chairmanships, while the Shiv Sena only succeeded in winning one.

In Saoner, Kalmeshwar, Parseoni, Mouda, Kamptee, Umred, Bhivapur, Kuhi, and Nagpur Rural, the Congress was elected to the position of chairperson. According to them, the Shiv Sena won the position of Ramtek chairperson while the NCP claimed victory in Katol, Narkhed, and Hingna.

According to sources, the Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena, a group led by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, won the Ramtek seat.

“The Panchayat Samiti results have demoralised the BJP cadre, as the party faced a defeat on the home ground of the RSS and senior leaders Nitin Gadkari, Devendra Fadnavis, and Chandrashekar Bawankule,” former minister and head of the Congress’ rural unit Rajendra Mulak said in a statement to a news agency. The Congress leader stated, “Winning and losing keeps happening, but the way they lost demonstrates that the BJP cadre has no grip in the district.”

Sarpanch and gramme panchayat member elections took place on Sunday, and the results will be announced on Monday.

Similar to this, polling and counting for the president and vice-president positions of Zilla Parishads will take place on Monday, according to officials.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article