Sunday, May 19, 2024
45.1 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024
- Advertisement -corhaz 3

Chhatisgarh’s First Phase Polling And Mizoram Begins Voting Early Morning Today, Vote Counting On December 3

Voting for assembly elections in Chhattisgarh and Mizoram has begun early morning today. In Chhattisgarh it is the first phase of voting and the second phase will take place after 10 days. Both Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress have high stakes in these states.

Meanwhile, the Maoists triggered a blast in Chattisgarh’s Tondamarka area this morning in which a CPRF personnel from CoBRA Battalion deployed for election duty was severely injured.

Twenty out of Chhatisgarh’s 90 assembly seats are up for voting today and twelve of them are from Maoist-hit Bastar area where tight security has been deployed.

In 2018, Congress had won 17 out of these 20 seats, while BJP just won 2.

The candidates contesting this first phase of polling include BJP’s former Chief Minister Raman Singh, former state unit chief Mohan Markam, Bhawna Bohra, Gautam Uike, Congress’ Mohammad Akbar, Lata Usendi, Vikram Mandavi, Kawasi Lakhma and Savitri Manoj Mandavi.

The ruling Congress in state have pinned all its open on Bhupesh Baghel who built up the party after the party’s leadership was completely wiped off in a Maoist attack in 2013. While, BJP has used Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s image throughout its campaign rather putting any face for the top position.

The grand old party has high hopes of winning in Chhatisgarh based upon its performances on varied parameters including education, agriculture and controlling the Maoists.

Meanwhile, in Mizoram the Mizo Nation Front that came into power by forming an alliance with BJP in 2018 is hoping for another consecutive term in state. The alliance had ended up the 10-year old Congress’ rule led by then Chief Minister Lal Thanhwla.

In 2018, the Mizo National Front has won 26 out of 40 assembly seats, Congress five while BJP managed to win one seat.

The vote counting for both the states will take place on December 3 along with Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana.

More articles

- Advertisement -corhaz 300

Latest article